holdingssitespeed.blogg.se

Autocad clone for mac
Autocad clone for mac













autocad clone for mac
  1. #Autocad clone for mac upgrade#
  2. #Autocad clone for mac software#
  3. #Autocad clone for mac windows#

#Autocad clone for mac upgrade#

I think that the best solution is to get your mother to completely upgrade ACAD, and do it this way, which means also paying for a more recent version of the other one. If you are willing to stick with R14, then using Wine will suffice. If you want to use AutoCAD, there's no free/open way to do it, that I've found, you need to pay for both ACAD and Whinedoze. I'm currently studying AutoCAD 2008 and it works great! I recently ran in to this problem as well and this was the sol'n I came up with. If you want the benefits of using AutoCAD, and security of Linux, then I would sugg doing this. Ok, I've read through this entire thread and one thing no-one seems to mention is using a virtual OS with a program such as VirtualBox. What if office boss pays 50% of money saved from to Windows->Linux move as bonus to employees? Will they be more open to the change? Just an idea. Not for free, but boss will save money in the deal.Ĭhanging people's habits is hard. And then they get 100% features they need. If one of the CAD candidates is 99% good, your mom's boss may consider to post bounty: we will pay you X dollars to add this feature. Will it affect customers? Business partners? If PythonCAD or QCad or any other candidates has all the features they need, they need to look into the mirror and ask: Do I want to pay X dollars for AutoCAD? Or I will accept shortime inconvenience while learning new tool, to save money in the long run? And answer might be not obvious.

autocad clone for mac

If boss of your mom's office is interested in saving money, she should be flexible what they use. You can promote Ubuntu but you cannot force people to make change if they don't want to. Summary: you can bring horse to the river but you cannot make it drink. AutoCAD was scriptable in Lisp years ago, not sure if it is still true. PythonCAD or QCad might have some other nice features which AutoCAD is missing - my bet would be PythonCad is scriptable in very nice little language called python. If most people find PythonCAD or QCad "good enough", there might be not enoug pressure to add last missing feature. Why? because development does cost money (or time), narrow niche restricts pool of interested users.

#Autocad clone for mac software#

I want a FREE alternative to autocad that runs natively on Linux.įree software has hard time to compete feature to feature with proprietary programs in narrow niches, like AutoCAD.

autocad clone for mac

So if I'll manage to run autocad on Linux I'll save 50%. It is programed in Qt (which I also use) so the future is unlimited. Because ,at any given time, the only "icons" on the screen are the ones you can use! There are several other unique features as well. It's fundamentals are about the best I've seen. I bought (ug) TurboCAD v12 from IMSI for $49.00 which likes my Qcad dxf and saves it to dwg which AutoCAD 2006 loves.Ī note about Qcad from a long time cad user and Parametrically driven graphics programmer.

#Autocad clone for mac windows#

I have a backup computer with windows 98 2nd on it. I do what I have to do to them, but unfortunately their AutoCAD doenn't like Qcad's dxf files (I hope Qcad corrects this is near future, a must). I get my client to e-mail their drawings as "dxf" which my Qcad opens accurately. (My last AutoCAD is 14 which doesn't cut the mustard.). (MicroStation, GenericCAD, DesignCAD, and the worst of all AutoCAD).Ĭurrently I am modifying AutoCAD 2006 drawings for a client.















Autocad clone for mac